Back to Awards
Mon, 19 Nov 2012 14:59:39 GMT | By Francis Whittaker
Golden Globes 2012: Foster to receive Lifetime Achievement prize

Cecil B. DeMille Award

Jodie Foster (© Steve Granitz/Wireimage)
  • Jodie Foster (© Steve Granitz/Wireimage)
  • Cecil B. DeMille
  • Walt Disney (© Getty/J. R. Eyerman)
  • Darryl F. Zanuck (© AP Photos)
  • Jean Hersholt (© Getty/Clarence Sinclair Bull/Hulton Archive)
  • Jack L. Warner (© AP Photos)
  • Mervyn LeRoy (© Getty/Hulton Archive)
  • Buddy Adler (© Getty/Jack Albin)
Steve Granitz/WireimageShow Thumbnails
Previous1 of 61Next
Share this Gallery

Every year, the showbiz world's first major awards event honours one veteran actor or actress whose achievements have towered over those of their Hollywood peers.

The Cecil B. DeMille Award, named after the legendary filmmaker and the prize's first recipient, is presented at the Golden Globes by the Hollywood Film Association. In the past it has been given to such luminaries as Walt Disney, Alfred Hitchcock, Steven Spielberg, Warren Beatty, Bob Hope, Elizabeth Taylor, Laurence Olivier and Robert De Niro.

This year the prize will be presented to two times Academy Award winner Jodie Foster, who will be appearing in sci-fi film Elysium alongside Matt Damon in 2013.

Click through the gallery to find out the illustrious names who have received this prize in the past.