Updated: Tue, 13 May 2014 10:45:00 GMT | By Francis Whittaker
Cannes Film Festival - Jury Presidents

Jane Campion (2014)

Jane Campion (© Associated Press)
  • Jane Campion (© Associated Press)
  • Steven Spielberg (2013) (© Associated Press)
  • Nanni Moretti (© Reuters)
  • Robert De Niro (2011) (© Reuters)
  • Tim Burton (2010) (© Associated Press)
  • Isabelle Huppert (2009) (© Associated Press)
  • Sean Penn (2008) (© WireImage.com)
  • Stephen Frears (2007) (© WireImage.com)
Associated PressShow Thumbnails
Previous1 of 24Next
Share this Gallery

Jane Campion, who is the only female winner of the Palme d'Or for The Piano, will lead the Cannes jury this year.

The New Zealand born director, producer and scriptwriter will preside the nine-person jury, which also includes director-producer Sofia Coppola, actor Willem Dafoe and Mexican actor-director Gael Garcia Bernal.

"Since I first went to Cannes with my short films in 1986, I have had the opportunity to see the festival from many sides and my admiration for this Queen of film festivals has only grown larger," she said in a statement. "At the Cannes Film Festival they manage to combine and celebrate the glamour of the industry, the stars, the parties, the beaches, the business, while rigorously maintaining the festival's seriousness about the Art and excellence of new world cinema".

Join us as we look back at previous holders of this most prestigious of roles...

  • What’s on Star
  • life ok: what to watch
  • What's on Channel V