Mon, 08 Apr 2013 11:35:00 GMT | By Glamsham Editorial

Sridevi, Sharmila Tagore receive Padma Awards

The highest Civilian Awards, which were announced some time back, has been finally conferred by the honourable President Pranab Mukherjee. Bollywood diva Sridevi and veteran actress Sharmila Tagore were honoured with their Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri Award respectively.

This was the first batch of Padma Honours of the year. As per the reports late legendary actor Rajesh Khanna and late popular comedian Jaspal Bhatti will receive their Padma Bhushan subsequently in the next batch.

Celebs like SHOLAY director Ramesh Sippy and Bollywood's acclaimed actor Nana Patekar will also receive their Padma Shri Awards.

Dynamic boxer Marry Kom will also be receiving Padma Bhushan.

Reportedly another ceremony is expected later for presentation of the awards to the remaining recipients.

It is being said that the selection committee this year included actress Ratna Pathak Shah, scientist Anil Kakodkar and Union Home Secretary RK Singh, among others.

MSN Mobile Entertainment

most watched right now

get connected