Tue, 06 Apr 2010 14:33:47 GMT

Film Awards instituted in the name of Vishnuvardhan, K.S. Aswath

The state government has instituted the Vishnuvardhan Life Time Achievement award to be given to those who have worked for the progress of the Kannada film industry, said Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa.


Yediyurappa made this announcement at the 2007-2008 state film awards function at Shimoga city. The matinee idol died last year.

Yediyurappa also said that another award for the best supporting actor will be instituted in the name of well-known film artist, K.S. Aswath, who died in January this year.

"I am happy to announce the addition of two special awards from next year in the name of legendary actor, Dr. Vishnuvardhan, and K.S. Aswath. We will also start building a memorial in the name of Dr. Vishnuvardhan. The construction work of the museum will start soon," said Yediyurappa.

He also said that the government was committed to helping the industry in making quality films.

The award function was an emotional one for actress, Bharathi Vishnuvardhan, when she accepted the Life Time Achievement award for the year 2008 on behalf of her late husband Vishnuvardhan. The annual award instituted by the Karnataka state government is given in the name of another Kannada Movie icon, Rajkumar.

Yediyurappa also handed over the Life Time Achievement award to Parvathamma Rajkumar for her services to the Kannada film industry.

Kannada superstar Puneet Raj Kumar won the best actor award for his performance in the film 'Milana' and actress Umashri bagged best actress trophy for her performance in Girish Kasaravalli-directed 'Gulabi Talkies'.

Source: IANS

MSN Mobile Entertainment

most watched right now

get connected